Board of Directors
2022 - 2023


The Friends’ Board of Directors includes people with a variety of skills and talents contributing to annual projects (in normal times) such as the Fall Book Sale, the membership drive and the Winter Books Sandwiched In series. In addition, the Board monitors Friends grants to the libraries, manages ongoing sorting of book donations and upkeep of the Scott St. and St. Helena Bookstores. Board members manage our website and periodic email communications, as well as social media and other community outreach. Each Board Director can serve two 3-year terms for a total of 6 years.


Voting Directors:

Carter Hoyt - President

Dennis Jenkins - Vice President / Sorting Room Co-Chair

Sandy Shuster - Treasurer

Nancy Gilley - Secretary

Annette Baker - Books Sandwiched In Co-Chair

Deb Chevas - Book Sale Chair / Sorting Room Co-Chair

Sheila Drouin - Membership

Tally Essman - Communications Co-Chair

Tiffany Hendrick - Marketing / Military Liaison

Janice Herbert - Communications Co-Chair

Lolita Huckaby-Watson - Volunteers


Non-voting directors:

Amanda Brewer Dickman - Library Director

James Morrall - Beaufort County Library Board of Trustees Liaison, District 5

Brenda Ladson Powell - Beaufort County Library Board of Trustees Liaison, District 1



Neil Ames - St. Helena Bookstore

Sue Ames - St. Helena Bookstore

Beth Brewer - Books Sandwiched In Hospitality

Lynn Kittson - Scott St. Bookstore

Janet McCauley - Books Sandwiched In Co-Chair